Katrin Korfmann, Counting For Nothing, What we Believe In Ajax
zoomzoom
Katrin Korfmann, Counting For Nothing, What we Believe In Ajax

RADO STAR PRIZE SWITZERLAND

RADO STAR PRIZE SWITZERLAND 2012 at the Biel/Bienne Festival of Photography awarded to the photographer Katrin Korfmann

German artist Katrin Korfmann emerged as the winner of the Rado Star Prize Switzerland 2012 for her work entitled “Count for Nothing”. Organized by Biel/Bienne Festival of Photography and Rado Watch Co. Ltd, this international photography prize aims to create a cultural exchange between Asia and Europe. The work of Katrin Korfmann was selected from 300 applications received from 26 European countries by a jury of renowned specialists chaired by the chief auctioneer, Simon de Pury. She is awared a production cost of up to CHF 10,000, plus a trip to China, and an exhibition in OFOTO Gallery located in the famous art scene of Moganshan Road in Shanghai in December 2012.
The decision of the jury united in Biel on the 31st of March fell upon the work of Katrin Korfmann (born in 1971 in Heidelberg) who lives and works in Amsterdam. For her series entitled “Count for Nothing”, Korfmann used a graphic pallet starting with an empty space. With a keen photographic eye she merged several images taken in the same place to create a new one, thus transposing movement in time, specificity borrowed from cinematography and integrated in photography. The final image consists of hundreds of shots where different moments are gathered onto the same space. The artist attempts to capture the memory of a place by creating a literal illustration of time. A new place is thus created, partially virtually. On these shots taken in various places around the globe, the people do not seem so different from one another seen from a birds eye view. However take a closer look, the cultural and ritual diversity becomes apparent: exotic products are carried on people’s heads in Angola, and the chadors from Teheran echo the robes of Cambridge graduates.

The jury recognised the variety of applications received. They observed that photography had freed itself, demonstrating uninhibited creativity where technology plays a key role. The jury comprised of Simon de Pury (President), auctioneer, founder and chairman of the auction house Phillips de Pury & Company, London and New York; François Hébel, director of the Rencontres d’Arles, France; Walter Keller, editor, exhibition curator, writer and gallery owner, Zurich; Hélène Joye-Cagnard, co-director of the Biel/Bienne Festival of Photography and independent exhibition curator; as well as Andrea Caputo, vice-president of marketing for Rado Watch Co. Ltd.

Biography Katrin Korfmann

Katrin Korfmann was born in Heidelberg in 1971 and grew up in Berlin. She currently lives and works in Amsterdam. After studying at the Weiβensee Kunsthochschule in Berlin, she specialised in photography at the Rietveld Academy in Amsterdam and continued her studies through residencies at the Rijkakademie in Amsterdam, the Cittadellarte in Biella and the Academy of Arts in Berlin. Katrin Korfmann works with various media, including photography, video and installation. Her works concern photographic concepts of framing, perspective, and the social dimensions of perception. She has won several prizes, including the Prix de Rome in 2003 (category of Art in Public Space). Her work has taken part in many exhibitions and are represented in many collections both private and public.
www.katrinkorfmann.com

website by aquaverde

Katrin Korfmann, Counting For Nothing, What we Believe In Ajax
agrandir l'imageagrandir l'image
Katrin Korfmann, Counting For Nothing, What we Believe In Ajax

RADO STAR PRIZE SWITZERLAND

Le Rado Star Prize Switzerland at Biel/Bienne Festival of Photography décerné à la photographe Katrin Korfmann

L’artiste allemande Katrin Korfmann a remporté le Rado Star Prize Switzerland 2012 pour son travail intitulé « Count for Nothing ». Organisé par les Journées photographiques de Bienne et Rado Watch Co. Ltd, ce prix international de photographie a pour vocation de créer un échange culturel entre l’Asie et l’Europe. Le concours offre à la lauréate un séjour en Chine et une exposition en décembre 2012 à la galerie OFOTO situé dans le fameux quartier artistique de Moganshan Road à Shanghai, ainsi que la production des travaux exposés jusqu’à hauteur de 10'000 CHF. Le travail de Katrin Korfmann a été sélectionné parmi 300 dossiers provenant de 26 pays européens par un jury de spécialistes renommés présidé par le commissaire-priseur Simon de Pury.


Le choix du jury qui s’est réuni le 31 mars dernier à Bienne s’est porté sur le travail de la photographe Katrin Korfmann (née en 1971 à Heidelberg) qui vit et travaille à Amsterdam. Pour sa série en cours « Count for Nothing », Korfmann utilise une palette graphique à partir d’un espace vide. Avec un regard photographique, elle fusionne plusieurs images prises au même endroit pour en créer une nouvelle, transposant ainsi le mouvement dans le temps, spécificité du domaine cinématographique, dans la photographie. L’image finale consiste en des centaines de clichés où différents moments sont concentrés sur un même sol. L’artiste s’efforce de capturer la mémoire d’un lieu en dessinant une illustration littérale du temps. Un espace nouveau est ainsi crée, partiellement virtuel. Sur ces prises de vue réalisées en plusieurs endroits du globe, les personne ne semblent pas si différentes les unes des autres vues d’en haut. Mais un regard plus rapproché rend visibles les diversités culturelles et rituelles : des produits exotiques sont portés sur les têtes en Angola, et les tchadors de Téhéran font écho aux robes des diplômés de Cambridge.

Le jury a salué la variété des dossiers qui leur ont été soumis. Il a constaté que la photographie s’est libérée faisant preuve d’une créativité débridée où la technologie joue un rôle important. Il était composé de Simon de Pury (président) ; commissaire-priseur, fondateur et président de la maison de vente aux enchères Phillips de Pury & Company, Londres et New York; François Hébel, directeur des Rencontres d’Arles, France; Walter Keller, éditeur, commissaire d’exposition, écrivain et galeriste, Zurich ; Hélène Joye-Cagnard, codirectrice des Journées photographiques de Bienne et commissaire
d’exposition indépendante; ainsi que Andrea Caputo, VP Marketing de Rado Watch Co. Ltd.


Biographie Katrin Korfmann

Katrin Korfmann est née en 1971 à Heidelberg et a grandi à Berlin. Elle vit et travaille actuellement à Amsterdam. Après avoir étudié à la Haute Ecole d’Art de Weissensee à Berlin, elle s’est spécialisée en photographie à l’Académie Rietveld d’Amsterdam et à poursuivi ses études par des résidences à la Rijkakademie d’Amsterdam, à la Cittadellarte de Biella et à l’Académie des arts de Berlin. Katrin Korfmann travaille avec plusieurs médias dont la photographie, la vidéo et l’installation. Ses travaux se rapportent aux concepts photographiques du cadrage, de la perspective et des dimensions sociales de la perception. Elle a remporté plusieurs prix dont le Prix de Rome en 2003 (catégorie Art dans l’espace public). Ses travaux ont fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions et sont représentés dans plusieurs collections privées et publiques.
www.katrinkorfmann.com
 

website by aquaverde